Book Reviews <3

Reading In the Cold / achoooo!

First of all an apology is in order for my dropping off the face of the earth, but I have a really valid explanation…… kind of.

Sadly, a much less dangerous and life changing event than Inigo Montoya’s backstory occurred involving lots of germs and tissues: namely the bedriddenness of one very achy bookworm. My invulnerability potion wore off (I knew it wasn’t high quality) and I got sick, ate a lot of chocolate and moaned about doing laundry and how much work it is to make the grumpy spin cycle actually work when you’re stuffing clothes in it.

Luckily I learned a valuable and lifechanging lesson through all of this: stuffed animals are our best friends.

*shuffles script* wait a cookie…. that wasn’t the right one?

HehEEm, what I meant to say was: there are lots of great things to do when you feel sick.

WARNING: This list may contain unhealthy amounts of chocolate consumption and severe reading habits and/or Arrow watching.

1. Breakfast in bed

A dainty cup saucer, a dash of sugar, a plate of eggs and bacon, served to you on a silver platter in bed. Thank goodness for helpful servants armed with heaps of food to serve you. You know you can never go wrong with a steaming plate of something warm and refreshing when you’re snuggled up with the sniffles. Our servants were absolutely wonderful. The only problem was that no one else could see them. I should look into that.**

**Blogger’s Sidenote: This medicine causes hallucinations?

2. Build a Blanket Throne

This should be a certified cure for all ills. I can guarantee a satisfaction rate of 100%, because making a blanket throne? Awesome. Reading? Awesome. Combined? AWESOME.

Steps to making a ladyliterature approved blanket throne:

  1. Play dramatic music (recommendations: Star wars, Indiana Jones, Mario Theme)
  2. Sing loudly off key and with a stuffy nose to said dramatic music
  3. Steal a large pile of blankets and pillows from the hall closet
  4. Construct throne (Lounging is also an acceptable addition)
  5. Sit in throne and crown yourself the reigning monarch with an empty tissue box
  6. Read

Alright, now you’re all set. Off you go, fellow throned reader!

3. REEEEEEAAAAD

Bookworms with time to spare = lots of reading. I read 3 books this past week and a half and I am very excited to share them with all of ya’ll. You’ll just have to wait for the next exciting episode of WordBlogGirl!

Books To Read:

  • Newt’s Emerald (It’s great guys! :))
  • Thumbelina
  • Baby Island
  • Harry Potter
  • Black Beauty
  • The Giver

Newt’s emerald was the latest of my books from the library, and it actually turned out to be my favorite despite lots of confusing names. Its a regency romance with a great plot, and lots of magical twists. The only thing I didn’t like was the naming. The main character has 3 names she goes by, and the other main character had 2, so that got a little confusing.

But I actually enjoyed the romance in it a LOT and I thought it was an overall great piece by Garth Nix, which is surprising because I haven’t read a lot of romance written by men, and I wasn’t sure how it would go, but its definitely won a place in my heart. The first few chapters where Newt/Henri/Truthful meets Charles/Lysette/Harnett I looooved it so much. Heh. #keepingtrackofnames

4. Watch lots of cheesy Rom Coms / other movies

We watched a whole bunch of movies while I wasn’t feeling good. Julie and Julia which is about two cooks played by Amy Adams and Meryl Streep (can’t go wrong with that combo ya’ll), who deal with the pressures of cooking and their wonderful husbands. It was really sweet, but I have to warn you that it meets its PG-13 rating. There are several uses of language, and relationships. SO BE THOU FOREWARNED.

We also watched Ella Enchanted which was great, and we wanted to watch some Disney favorites like Mulan and Tarzan and Beauty and the Beast, but we didn’t get around to it. Sweet, wholesome, classics are my personal favorite for a cold.

Hope this list helped! For those of you wanting a status update on my 2016 100 Books goal, I am currently at an outstanding 18, which I am very proud of. 🙂

Blessings!

LadyLiterature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Reading In the Cold / achoooo!

  1. GO YOU! 18?! You little speed-reader! I’m currently at 13 books, which I’m really happy with too. I’m hoping this summer to get a good bit ahead because I know with the school year starting – my first year of high school this year, eep! – I’m going to have a lot on my plate.
    I approve 100% of your list, LadyLit. Romantic comedies are the BEST! Can I recommend one I watched just the other day? Two Weeks’ Notice. It’s adorable! (I do believe it’s rating PG-13 as well…) But I also just re-watched another favorite, Penelope! *swoon* James MacAvoy is my favorite. He played in Becoming Jane and Chronicles of Narnia! (Mr. Tumnus!)
    Happy reading! Those books sound awesome, I’ll have to read them! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

