Book Reviews <3

Seven Wonders: The Colossus Rises

Hello there pumpkin spice and everything nice readers! Its WINTER (wohooooo 🙂 *buries under 17 layers of covers*)

Two days ago my brother (HEY P.T!) came home with a bookseries called the “Seven Wonders” and since its ya know a younger middle school//elementary age book I was like: “I’m good I’ve got plenty to read,” but he actually really loved it and at the moment the School For Good and Evil = ughhhhh so I was bad and read it instead (I feel really bad School for Good and Evil, I’ll read you next, promise!).

Author: Chelsea Fine

Title: ‘Anew: The Archers Of Avalon Book 1’

Length:  385 pages

Goodreads:

One Boy
Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die.

One Mission
Jack needs to find seven magic loculi that, when combined, have the power to cure him.

One Problem
The loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven’t been seen in thousands of years.

Seven Wonders
Because they’re hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

Jack Plot (:D 😀 PUUUUNS *get it get it*)

Basically Jack, your ordinary everyday 13 year old who occasionally uses a flying toy dino instead of an alarm clock, has this rare medical disease – stay with me here fellow teens – called G7W where he basically gets superpowers. Yup.

OK HOLD ON A SECOND – SUPERPOWERS??

At first I was like: ummmmm. But I call suspension of disbelief because the plot’s fun and the story keeps moving, and I genuinely liked Jack so yes. Superpowers. *dares readers to question it*

To explain a little more, the superpowers are from a genetic mutation that Jack and 4 other kids have (that we know of, there are supposedly a bunch more who have died) since they are descended from Atlantis Royalty (yeah….) and have access to magical globes that grant powers in addition to the gifts they get from G7W.

OK I KNOW BUT STILL

Once this group known as the “Karai Institute”finds out that Jack has the mutation they kidnap him from the hospital to save his life and then keep him on their island where Atlantis was originally, but they forget to tell him what his giftings are, and then put him in with a bunch of kids to work together to save themselves from the disease. But the kids accidentally find a magic spring in the ground that can heal them looking for their friend when they stumble across a time portal thingie where ancient evil creatures can come through the space hole and end up releasing a griffin.

Woah. That sounded a lot better in my head….

But it works readers! I promise on my bookish heart it does! In the book it just works, I don’t know how to explain it.

So, suspend thine disbelief! Because despite its many umm… quirks it does actually do a good job. Plus guys its by the same guy who wrote 3 of The 39 clues books. I used to LOVE those so the guy has automatic cool points in my book (heh :D). He’s returned!

Other Characters

Aly – Aly was interesting, but I wasn’t sure what to think about the ‘teen hacker genius’ cliche. I watched a video on a teen coding genius who was 14 just to make sure I wasn’t totally off base , but even he couldn’t do the things Aly was doing in the story eep. It didn’t make sense for her to have that kind of expertise at age 13. But she has an obsession with old movies *high five wohoo!* so that sort of counterbalances. 🙂 🙂

Marco – Marco was like a super epic superhero with side of awesome. Marco ROCKS. He risks his life on 3 occasions to save the other characters, and he is like super-ninja-awesomesauce. He can knock out security cameras, lift small trees (can we have a moment of silence for that poor tree?), and jump/shoot/BE AWESOME at pretty much whatever he sets his mind to. When badguys come up he’s just like: Dudes. Naw.

Cass – Cass has a special place in my heart because I can really super relate to him. He doesn’t like heights or dangerous things (ROLLER COASTERS- Eep) and he likes books and studying. (I’m actually Cass guys :D). He has pawesome actually-a-map skills where he can direct the group pretty much anywhere they need to go, and I loved his vulnerability throughout the story despite his giftings. He reacted sanely to the crazy stuff that happens, and I really appreciated it.

Torquin – Torquin made me either frustrated or mad the whole book. He was the kid’s ‘bodyguard’ figure, but he loses them 3 times (once from going to JAIL) and he doesn’t seem to care about the kids at all arg. Professor B. actually seems like he knows what he’s doing, so I kept thinking: Why not someone else who likes kids and can speak English? There are plenty of people who can speak a bunch of languages and are trained protectors. Torquin damaged equipment 2 times when he was angry and…. humph. Professor B. could have completely changed the plot if he had hired someone else.

All in all it was a pretty good book. It had ups and downs, but I would recommend it to people my age or younger, and I’m going to read the second one. If I was rating it I would give it a coffee cup with half sugar (it had the potential to be great, but it needed a little more fixings :D).

Thanks!

Ladylit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

