Book Reviews <3

The statistical probability of love at first sight – YES BOOYAH

So it LOOKS like a cheesy romance novel, right? I mean the big red heart, the word love on the cover in big bold letters…. all signs pointing directly into CheesyVille toot toot. But actually The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight was the biggest, bestest, squishiest book ever. The writing is waaaaay megamonkey unique, with the point of view being so unusual and interesting. I was intrigued with the storyline, and then caught up in the engaging and melting romance. (you gotta love a good romance).

Goodreads description says:

“Four minutes changes everything. Hadley Sullivan, 17, misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father’s second wedding in London with never-met stepmother. Hadley meets the perfect boy. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row. A long night on the plane passes in a blink, but the two lose track in arrival chaos. Can fate bring them together again?”

The banter between Hadley and Oliver (whom I have affectionately nicknamed Oliver the Hottie) is fun and light and great. The author really nailed the witty comebacks and humor that made this book so special.

When Hadley and Oliver tease each other and then Oliver says something super sweet I just die. He says such amazing stuff that most guys don’t, with total conviction and smoldering eyes and man I fell as hard as Hadley. You’re totally lost in his fictional eyes *swoon*, *actually swoons onto the hardwood and then crashes down the landing and skids along stairs with a bang*. Sadly that would happen…. I lack in the grace department almost as much as in the crafty smafty department.

Although my favorite scene is their reunion (Praise the Lord, there is hope for you who have not read it, take solace from this knowledge), I also love their airplane ride chatter and deep connection. I’ve read a couple different airplane centered novels lately, and this one was a really nice curl up by the fire with hot tea read and went for a depth some of the others didn’t.

Here are a couple of the dialogue snippets:

“What are you really studying?”
He leans back to look at her. “The statistical probability of love at first sight.”
“Very funny,” she says. “What is it really?”
“I’m serious.”
“I don’t believe you.”
He laughs, then lowers his mouth so that it’s close to her ear. “People who meet in airports are seventy-two percent more likely too fall for each other than people who meet anywhere else.”

“He looks at her and smiles. “You’re sort of dangerous, you know?”
She stares at him. “Me?”
“Yeah,” he says sitting back. “I’m way too honest with you.”

“I can’t believe you’re here,” she says, her voice soft. “I can’t believe you found me.”

“You found me first,” he says, and when he leans to kiss her, it’s slow and sweet and she knows that this will be the one she always remembers. Because while the other two kisses felt like endings, this one is unquestionably a beginning.”

Let me just– I’ll just– Oh forget it I’m getting more tissues.

The whole book is full of quotes like that- thoughtful, sweet, and romantic. I’ve been ruined for normal males. Completely. Oliver is practically perfect in every way thank you very much Mary Poppins.

Jennifer E. Smith you are a master in the art of romance, and I salute your expertise. Thank you oh mystical romance nymph of power. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Thanks for reading! See you next Monday 🙂

Lady Literature

Love Lots. Read Bunches. Smile Big.

One thought on “The statistical probability of love at first sight – YES BOOYAH

Leave a Reply

