Book Reviews <3

The Host

Hey everybody!

So first off LOVE LOVE LOVE. This book is on my top ten best/favorite reads list (which has now expanded to like 13 best reads…. but reading cannot be confined to a list guys so stop looking at the screen like that), and is wonderful and romantic (ofc) and thought provoking. The story line is just brilliant. It’s everything that’s “in” with people right now, which makes it an easy best seller already, but its coupled with fantastic writing and deeper tones then you would find in surface reading books. It’s got dystopian, aliens, love triangles…. everything you could want. Heh, I feel like the grandfather from Princess Bride now.

It’s definitely worth reading. Just don’t get lost in the first chapter. Reading through that first bit is a little overwhelming the first time since Meyers uses a bunch of terminology that you’re like, “Whaaaa?” to. Things like “Souls”, “Healer”, “The seaweeds planet”, etc etc. But stick with it and you’ll be grand, my friends.

The first few chapter are great. The flavor of the story really shines bright, and it was like eating a new flavor of icecream; a totally exciting adventure for your taste-buds. Or in this case, reading buds. In these chapters you get to know the main character Wanderer, this wonderful Soul (which is a type of Alien for those who haven’t heard about this book) that is in the human body of a girl named Melanie. And it’s super cool. You have both of their thoughts a lot of the time, and Melanie is really snarky which makes it hilarious to read the banter between them.

Eventually, later in the book, the two of them go on this death defying journey, driven by Melanie’s insistence, to meet with (COVER THINE EYES IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT) another pocket of the rebellion that they hope exist, and Melanie’s lost love Jared. In this rebellion they meet Melanie’s Uncle Jeb, and a man named Ian, along with a host (ah, puns) of other characters who initially distrust Wanderer since she isn’t human and cannot reveal that Melanie is still alive.

Although initially everyone distrusts Wanderer, her hard work and her infinite kindness and love for the people around her show them that Souls aren’t always evil, and that Wanderer is trustworthy as a friend and a member of their society. It’s great how characters change and grow so much during the story. You’re cheering for Wanderer at the end, like, “OH YEAH BABY YOU DID IT”. I was so happy when everyone finally stopped hating her and was on her side.

SO now that that’s all done, on to more wonderous things. Like the romantic threads that all weave together. (Yes it is important ofc)

The romantic triangle is one of the most interesting things I have ever read, and Meyers pulls it off masterfully.

I’m going to try and explain it simply, because it is super cool when you get past the mind blown bit.

Melanie loves Jared. So, since Wanderer is in essence Melanie she loves Jared. But Ian likes Wanderer and not Melanie, and Wanda returns his feelings. So it’s a love triangle, except not. Since it’s two separate people that Ian and Jared love.

Let me just say that the romance in this story is absolutely heart wrenching and stunning. Here’s a virtual kleenex box in advance. It was beautiful. I’ve got some quotes that highlight the some wonderous moments for you to read.

 “It’s not the face, but the expressions on it. It’s not the voice, but what you say. It’s not how you look in that body, but the thing you do with it. You are beautiful.” Ian

“I, the soul called Wanderer, love you, human Ian. And that will never change, no matter what I might become.” Wanderer

“Eight full lives,” I whispered against his jaw, my voice breaking. “Eight full lives and I never found anyone I would stay on a planet for, anyone I would follow when they left. I never found a partner. Why now? Why you? You’re not of my species. How can you be my partner?”
“It’s a strange universe,” he murmured.
“It’s not fair,” I complained, echoing Sunny’s words. It wasn’t fair. How could I find this, find love–now, in this eleventh hour–and have to leave it? Was it fair that my soul and body couldn’t reconcile? Was it fair that I had to love Melanie, too? Was it fair that Ian would suffer? He deserved happiness if anyone did. It wasn’t fair or right or even…sane. How could I do this to him?
“I love you,” I whispered.
“Don’t say that like you’re saying goodbye.” Wanderer and Ian

If I were a Dolphin or a Bear or a Flower, it wouldn’t matter. I would always love you, always remember you. You will be my only partner.” Wanderer

“He leaned over me, and his luminous eyes held mine.

“I’ll be back soon. Don’t be afraid.”

“I’m not.” He ducked in and touched his lips to my forehead.” Ian and Wanda

SO MUCH WONDERFUL ROMANTIC HEART THROBBING. Ach, so much. I just love this book.

You can purchase your own copy of this fantastic book here: http://www.amazon.com/The-Host-Novel-Stephenie-Meyer/dp/0316218510.

Thanks for reading!

LadyLiterature

Write well. Read lots. Love bunches.

Leave a Reply

