Uncategorized

The Land Of Stories- NO

Hey everybody! Lady Literature here!

I have recently noticed as I looked back through my postings that a few [Ok, ok. I admit it. A lot…] of the books I have reviewed were romances. The point of this blog was to reach out to ALL of you wonderful readers, and not just the girls who enjoy a good romance. So I’m broadening my horizons. To spice things up a bit from the usual LadyLiterature-mooning-over-fictional characters-romance Mondays…. I’m doing a different kind of book. You should all be very proud of me, ok? This was a tough – *cough* VERY tough *cough* – transition, as you all probably know by now that I am a hopelessly sappy romantic. I’m the person with a tissue box in the back of the movie theater crying during the chick flick.

But back on topic.

This Monday’s book is called ‘The Land Of Stories’  which is by Chris Colfer. I did not enjoy reading this book at all after picking it up on a bookstore trip. The front cover proclaims that it is ‘The #1 New York Times Bestseller’, but I couldn’t see why after finishing it. Maybe people read it based on concept alone?

The story opens with a poorly written prologue about the Evil Queen and Snow-White in a dungeon. I personally didn’t like the take Colfer took on both of their characters throughout the book, and I think this beginning sets them up to fail. It doesn’t give him enough maneuvering room. I think it would have been better if he had left them both alone and introduced them later.

Then we get a glimpse into the daily, and extremely clichéd, lives of Alex and Conner Bailey. There is an underachieving middle-school class and a cruel teacher. There is one smart girl who always answers the questions right (Alex). And there is the class clown (Conner). I found this part so frustratingly shallow. No class is all one thing. No teacher is all one thing. No girl or boy is all one thing.

I also found the lack of knowledge in the class not humorous, but unflatteringly horrific. These children had no idea what the story of Little Red Riding Hood was about, which is utterly preposterous in my opinion. Not only that, they also didn’t know the stories of a dozen or so other fairy tales, along with simple topics like the kings of ancient lands that are generally considered common knowledge. This part of the story lacked any sort of depth in character and human being, and I was very disappointing with it.

I have to give Colfer props though for the remainder of the story. After a less than thrilling beginning, it does start to get better. Colfer works well with what he has – however little – and turns it into a good plot. But the writing is still average, or a little less than average. The characters lack good internal dialogue, reflection, motivation, and depth.

Maybe I’m being too picky. Just because I didn’t like this book doesn’t mean that you won’t, I simply don’t recommend it, as there are so many other great books out there to read instead of this one.

As always, whether you agreed or disagreed, thanks for reading. See you this Thursday!

Write Well. Love Lots. Read Bunches.

Leave a Reply

